Writing & Coffee – what perks your work?

What's your order?

                                                  

Having just posted my second novel, The Milk Chocolate Murders, up on Book Country for workshopping, I can now refocus on the tweaks needed on the first novel, The Apple Pie Alibi. If all goes according to plan, APA should be ready for submission (again) by September 1. That timing allows me two months to outline the third book of the trilogy, The Wedding Cake Witness, in time for the next slog known as Nanowrimo.

Throw in a commission to write a 5 minute piece of classical music (not as easy at it sounds) and I once again find myself very busy. This will take much coffee.

Speaking of coffee…

I have always wondered if genre dictated coffee choice. In other words, do writers in the mystery genre prefer straight espresso, or perhaps (as I do) an Americano? Do romance writers like, I don’t know, one of Starbuck’s new drinks? A caramel cocoa crunch frappuccino maybe? Just guessing. I have no idea what a romance writer typically orders.

Hey! What about a totally unscientific poll?

Comment below with your genre and favorite beverage, be it coffee, tea, or something stronger. There will be no prizes, but rest comfortably with the knowledge you have helped to further define your genre in a new, and tasty fashion.

Let’s here from everyone! <clink!>

8 thoughts on “Writing & Coffee – what perks your work?

  1. I write paranormal/mysteries with a touch of sci-fi, and I do it with a cup of tea in hand. That’s right I’m rebel, I don’t even do the coffee thing. Now where’s my cup?

    • Quite a few tea-only drinkers! I may have to try it sometime. Either that or get transferred to our London office. Since their break rooms are called tea-points, I guess I know what I’d be drinking!

  2. I write fantasy and literary, and non-fiction health, and I do both coffee and tea. Coffee mild roast or French vanilla, and varied flavors of tea, from green to mate to fennel to dandelion, etc. Guess it all depends on my mood! Fun post, DJ!

    • So far the fantasy writers are winning! Not many know of mate; strong stuff from what I hear. I used to cavort with a nonprofit that sent volunteers on health assistance projects in places like Paraguay. One of those amigos came back with mate, and I think forty years later he still drinks the stuff. Must be good!

    • I know many musicians who favor tea, as well. I think everyone loves the smell of coffee, even if they don’t want to pour a cup. Excellent genre, btw!

Leave a Reply

