The Easiest New Year’s Resolution Yet

English: New Year's Resolutions postcard

English: New Year’s Resolutions postcard (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Ever make a new year’s resolution and then two weeks later forget all about it? What? Two days later? Ten minutes? Yikes, at least we can wait until the next commercial break before we throw the diet out the window. We can do better. Right?

 

Write.

 

I checked my 2013 resolutions and found I did okay as a writing blogger and almost okay as a food blogger, but still – no major accomplishment to speak of. Now we are starting 2014. What to do, what to do?

 

I could announce I will finish the edits on my current novel and start to shop it around with the goal of either gaining representation or publishing it myself.

 

I could announce I will start work on a sequel to the novel AND start working on a cookbook.

 

I could announce I will post to both blogs at least once a week. Except the week I am in Cancun, but I digress.

 

or…

 

I can use The Easiest New Year’s Resolution Yet: Be it known that on January 1, 2014, I, D.J. Lutz, with all resolute authority, dignity and possibly even grace, resolve to be better than yesterday.  At something.

 

I’ll try to be a better writer, blogger, person, whatever.  I look at it this way – 364 small resolutions that are successful will mean much more than “not keeping” one or two specific, and most often overstated and grandiose new year’s resolutions.

 

So why don’t we all try this?  Lose the 50 pounds if you want. Go for it. Write ten new novels. You can do it. Stop smoking. Please do that one. But if you want to make a new year’s resolution you have a decent chance of keeping – promise to be better than yesterday. The details will fill themselves in as you go. People will notice.

 

Now, about that diet…

 

3 thoughts on “The Easiest New Year’s Resolution Yet

  1. Pingback: 2014 – the year in review | Exploding Potatoes

  2. Pingback: A Simple New Year’s Resolution: Look Up | SoshiTech - Social Media Technology - Soshitech.com

  3. Pingback: 31,536,000 second chances | My Infernal Imagination

Leave a Reply

