On Writing, Naps and Wine

St. Augustine writing, revising, and re-writin...

St. Augustine writing, revising, and re-writing: Sandro Botticelli’s St. Augustine in His Cell (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My wife tells people I can sleep with my eyes open, while sitting or standing. And she would be correct.

I learned this little trick while attending a “work more efficiently” seminar that was so boring I completely caught up on a years’ worth of overdue naps over the course of four days. I did manage to wake up for the end, when the presenter was promulgating the concept that “one must take a break every once in a while and get back to basics.” So, what does this have to do with my writing? Let us recap.

Last week I posted a list of tasks I had hoped to complete during the week. Here is a status update:

– Complete the first chapter of Blood Lust. DONE. Well, at least the first draft. It has a ways to go.

– Create a new recipe for Exploding Potatoes; then cook it, take the photos and write the post. DONE. Check it out here.

– Write the script for the corporate presentation. DONE. Three presentations given; ten to go.

– Organize and hopefully delegate some of the writing requirements for the non-profit’s next event. Deadline is the week before Memorial Day so the clock is ticking. – NOT DONE. I really need to get started on this. Soon.

– Write the next writer’s to-do list, with a recap of how this week went. Currently, IN PROGRESS. However, if you are reading this, then you can change the status to DONE!

As for this next week? I am taking a reading week. I have numero0us books on my “need to read” shelf and this week I will take one of them with me constantly, reading at any and every opportunity. It’s Harlan Coben’s Six Years. The first sentence alone makes the book worth a full read. The second book is a craft book on writing, specifically dealing with developing characters. We can all use more of that skill-set, yes?

Enjoy your week. Do something positive, be it write like crazy, take care of your kids, read a book, or maybe just nap. If wine enters the picture, all the better.

 

Leave a Reply

