Cool jazz and hot coffee

English: A photo of a cup of coffee. Esperanto...

English: A photo of a cup of coffee. Esperanto: Taso de kafo. Français : Photo d’une tasse de caffé Español: Taza de café (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Do you have a “favorite” spot where you can focus on writing? Mine seems to be a local coffee shop conveniently located on my way to the “real” job. I don’t normally give out shameless plugs, especially since the less people here the better, but suffice to say I always seem to have a green mermaid watching over my typing. Probably another wannabe editor. Oh well, what can you do? Everyone’s a critic.

The reason I bring up location is that some places are just more conducive to writing. Last week, I went to another coffee shop (with the green mermaid’s twin sister) and found it inhospitable for writing. The music was different, the “regulars” were different. It was just different. I got nothing done, except for the infusion of caffeine, which isn’t all that bad, I suppose.

But today, I am back in my normal spot, sitting at my normal table, listening to Bill Holman arrangements of early 60’s jazz. The regular patrons here are all reading, typing or staring at their coffee. Love it! So with the environment issue settled, what have I accomplished?

Blog maintenance: added another favorite blogger to the blogroll. As you recall, I am starting over in this area. Check out all the author links off to the side. If they aren’t good writers, they wouldn’t be there. More to come, I am sure.

Blood Lust: More plot development. This story has taken a new turn. I am very interested in seeing where it will go. You’d think I would know, wouldn’t you? I’m just the writer; the story will tell me when it is ready.

Oh, and then there is the infusion of coffee. Can’t forget that.

I hope you all have a favorite writing spot. And you find yourself there, often!

One thought on “Cool jazz and hot coffee

  1. I tried coffee shop writing during my California vacation. Accustomed as I am to writing in solitude, environmental distractions contributed toward low productivity. But my best friend was there, so I didn’t mind as much. (:

Leave a Reply

