Surviving the Arc d’Triomphe Roundabout – by knowing when to exit

The Champs-Élysées avenue, and the Arc de Trio...

The Champs-Élysées avenue, and the Arc de Triomphe in Paris (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have been pondering a new novel based on my short story Blood Lust. I’ve made some changes, tried several plot lines, even added a character from another short story series. I was circling the writer’s roundabout, wondering which exit would put me onto the path to a coherent novel. Yesterday, taking advantage of some time alone while driving on a 300 mile road trip, I verbalized (out loud) the plot options. This was a no stress exercise since I was in the car myself. The trucks passing me in the left lane are probably still talking about me on channel 19.

This whole episode reminded me of driving on the Champs-Elysee in Paris, circling the Arc d’Triomphe in that wild, no marked lane free for all traffic.  I was fairly confident I had it all down; ready to start.  After spending a few hours in the hotel that evening working on research, I was even more certain I had the makings of a decent novel. After all, I had a beginning, middle and end, with conflict and resolution, etc. etc. etc.  Everything was looking good, I had found my exit.

At 4:00 AM, I had an epiphany. A new story line. new characters, heck possibly even a new genre. I fired up the computer and started typing. In a few minutes I had an outline for a new novel, plus story concepts for at least two follow-on novels. This all happened without the aid of coffee. In a matter of minutes I had done more work on this new concept than the entirety of my Blood Lust offshoot.

Who knew? Will it work? I don’t know, but anything that hits that quickly must be worth some further thought.

Time to start translating my notes into the snowflake model and see what happens! Not familiar with the snowflake method? Check it out here.

I won’t give much away, since it is still in the early stages of development, but the story involves ninjas, motorcycle gangs and peppermint ice cream.

More to follow, I think I see my next exit…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

