Since no one else wants Monday…

I’ll take it. Yep. You can have your hump day, take all the Friday’s you can handle. Heck, even grab a-hold of the weekends, just leave me Monday.

Why would I be so crazy would I want to embrace the first work day of the week? Because my academic week ends on a Sunday of all days, at 11:59 PM Central standard time. I don’t even live in the Central time zone, for Pete’s sake. Additionally, taking classes one at a time means my brain is in the land of academia pretty much all year long, with no end in sight (the end is next year, sometime in August 2013, but it seems to be nowhere close.) And what this all means is that I use Friday night and all day Saturday and Sunday (less church time) to dot the I’s and cross the T’s on scads of research papers and discussion board topics. Whoo hoo. Doesn’t that sound like more fun than a barrel of monkeys?

Monday – thou art my break from the world of Blackboard.

Background: I have been writing two weekly serials, one a detective story and one a vampire-esque saga. Lots ‘o fun, but I just haven’t had the proper time to make continuing those efforts satisfying. I could crank out a pile of words, but if I am not enamored with the plot, the dialogue, the characterizations, etc, why should I expect you to be? Frankly, I want to spare you from reading crap. And there is plenty of that out there as it is. I’ll eventually get back to the serials, but for now – I had to make a change.

I have started an outline for a novel, based on my private detective character, Witt Kepler. This storyline may just work so I want to take my time with it. I also have numerous books given to me as presents. I am almost through the first one. Maybe you have heard of it? It’s about some girl with a dragon tattoo. I received that book last Christmas. Yes, I am behind in my reading.

I also have, stacked off to the side of my temporary workstation, a few other gems. “The Devil in the White City” by Erik Larson; “Started Early, Took My Dog” by Kate Atkinson; “The Art of Racing in the Rain” by Garth Stein; and a plethora of John Le Carre books as well as the beginnings of a decent Rex Stout collection.

Let it be known that on Monday’s – I shall read not books on employment law or strategic planning in a volatile economy, but rather books…get ready…for fun and enjoyment.

That’s my Monday mantra.

I may not get back to serious writing until next year, and that’s okay. I’ll have the degree, finally, and I’ll have read some great work by some talented writers. And speaking of talented writers, I will be reading your posts more often, as well. I will even endeavor to comment every so often, though I do not want to become a pest (or a stalker.)

So stay tuned for updates on my reading and my journey down the path of becoming a better writer. What better way to start (again) than to read?

What are you reading?

3 thoughts on “Since no one else wants Monday…

  1. Glad to know you are making some changes that suit you! Reading for fun is a big deal when you HAVE to read to do your research papers. I for one will be waiting for Witt and your vampire stories when they come. Good luck on your novel! 🙂

Leave a Reply

