The Times – They Are A-Changin’

National Museum of the Marine Corps

National Museum of the Marine Corps (Photo credit: afagen)

With work, school, family and church (in that order, I think) taking up much of my time, the writing desk has sat unoccupied for a while. But as Dylan said – the times, they are a-changin’.

I just spent a few minutes perusing my Facebook author page and have visited, liked, subscribed or at least waved to everyone that has stopped by. I think. If I missed you, let me know.

What?  You say I have ignored my own advice on “liking” an author just to build numbers? Well, yes and no. I am sure there are many writers who are just trying to build their Facebook count, in an attempt to show some agent or publisher that they have a viable Web 2.0 social network platform.

But you know, the human in me has realized that if someone was nice enough to stop by my page and click something, I can do the same in return. Given enough time, I am sure their true intentions will be evident and I can ignore those who are simply game players. I guess I haven’t lost all my faith in humanity… yet.

Witt Kepler, Private Eye? Absolutely. New episode should be ready sometime tomorrow. Stay tuned! I will have to reread Duct Tape and Handcuffs, just to get back in the right mindset, but after a glass of Merlot, I think the Private Eye will be off and running again! Cheers <clink> !

Finally – a word about the non profit organization I have started supporting. A few weeks ago I was asked to help on the communications team of The Band of America’s Few. This is a band of veteran musicians from the United States Marine Corps who gather from all over the world once or twice a year to perform concerts. They have been the sole US representative at the Royal Nova Scotia International Tattoo for two years now and will be returning this July. BAF has performed at Mardis Gras in New Orleans and also received invitations to perform in Germany and Australia.

Next gig – Sunday May 27th, 10:30 AM at the National Museum of the Marine Corps in Triangle, Virginia. A follow-on concert will be performed later that same day, at 4:00 PM in Hurkamp Park, located in Fredercksburg, Virginia.   Both concerts are FREE!!!!

Join their Facebook fan page ( I help moderate it, too!) Better yet, come on out and hear them play. They are a great bunch of folks. Heck, I’ll be at the Museum concert. Look for the old hippie with the dark shades and long straggly beard!

Anyone at the concert that mentions “Witt Kepler” gets a cameo in an upcoming episode!

See you there!

Now, back to the writing desk I go…

2 thoughts on “The Times – They Are A-Changin’

  1. Only so many hours in the day and we pick and choose and prioritize. Glad to see a post from you! Sounds like you are truly enjoying the work with The Band of America’s Few. 🙂

    • I really shouldn’t play anymore (tendonitis issues) but it’s a great way to stay in touch. Plus, the group has become a needed vehicle for therapy. Many of these folks have been deployed to the war zones, but not to play. I guess it’s one of those “musicians tend to trust musicians” things. I’m glad to be a part of it. And I get to write!

Leave a Reply

