Developing a “Writer’s Plan”

The SWOT-landscape systematically deploys the ...

Image via Wikipedia

No, not a writing plan, as in today I will write this chapter and tomorrow I will write that article. I am talking about a business plan.

I’ve written standard business plans before, complete with SWOT analysis and all of its brethren, but a writer’s business plan is slightly different. But not much. It involves goals, timelines, market analysis, strengths and weaknesses, etc. Okay, so maybe it “is” more like a standard business plan.

Regardless, I am starting to outline what I want to do with this writing stuff, and where do I want to go with it. I am thinking realistically about a timeline, as well. The novel’s revision won’t be complete by Friday, alas.

I am excited, though. Like an inventor pressing the switch and hoping to see the gadget work, I am expecting great things. Or, at least progress. But if you don’t think big – why bother?

I know some of my peers have already started their plans, and I hope things are going well.

Thoughts? Advice?

Oh, and welcome to Monday! Let’s make this week a good one!

15 thoughts on “Developing a “Writer’s Plan”

  1. I have no plan….could this be part of my problem. I must think on this. Not teasing you…just seriously thinking about my own goals and what I want to achieve. πŸ™‚

    • I understand. For me it’s like I am cooking dinner by putting more and more pans in the oven instead of focusing on a single entree. I have been working on too many genres (too many wip’s) at once, when I should be focusing on the one I really enjoy over all others.

  2. I don’t have a business plan per se – but I do have some goals:
    1. Write 10,000 new words a week
    2. Publish one of my short stories from previous writings every other week (to make a backlist)
    3. Publish three or more novels this year

    And keep Heinlein’s rules of business in mind:
    1) You must write.
    2) You must finish what you write.
    3) You must not rewrite unless to editorial demand.
    4) You must mail your work to someone who can buy it. (Indie – publish it)
    5) You must keep the work in the mail until someone buys it.

    So far so good this year – πŸ™‚

    Cyn

    • Hi Emerald. In talking with people at the conference, I realized that I am an obsessive planner in most areas of my life, but not in writing. Some established writers shared their “get noticed” plan with us and I started to think “They’re famous. They did this. I’m not famous. Maybe I should think about doing this.”

  3. My additional learning-as-I- go advice is this DJ:

    1. As you make your writing plan be absolutely honest about what you want.
    2. It’s not enough to have goals–you need to write down the tasks you are going to do to accomplish those goals
    3. Re-evaluate periodically to see what’s working and what’s not.

    This is a roadmap, and is not written in stone πŸ˜‰ Change what doesn’t work for you.

    Good luck!

    • Absolutely on the mark with that first one, Jeannie. When I discussed career aspirations with the agent, she mentioned that the “industry” will want to lock you into one thing (military action thrillers, in my case) because “marketing” thinks I have the proper credentials to sell in that genre. She asked why I still wrote mysteries and crime fiction, which brought me to the realization that I enjoy them more. So she suggested I not shelve the novel just yet, but create a plan, focusing on what I really want to do, not what marketing says I should do.

      • I think you talked to someone smart! There will be more creativity and excellent writing doing what you LOVE and ENJOY vs. writing your second or third choice because it is marketable. If you don’t believe in the story your writing 100% +, it shows up in the writing no matter how hard you try to fix it. Something can be technically correct and even have a good plot, real characters, etc. and still not have any life between the pages.

        This conference was good for you, I’m thinking, on many levels, and an eye opener for another. I’m very big on following your heart–and I see you have leanings that way too. Follow YOUR dream DJ–that’s where your success, however you define it, lies.

        Coming to that ‘defining moment’ is akin to having a ton of bricks lifted off your shoulders–that was the feeling for me at any rate.

  4. Pingback: Plan it. | Solutions to Cherish

  5. Pingback: Writing Progress and Plans « creativityorcrazy

Leave a Reply

