Nanowrimo 2011 – done!

Okay, so what I meant to say was this – the 50,000 word novel I scribbled last November has finally made it through my edit process, ending up a 51,000 word, coherent story. In other words – Hell In High Heels is done!

Or just abandoned, depending on if you go with da Vinci or not.

Now we wait.

Here’s where this novel is going next: in late February, I meet with an agent (Carolyn Jenks) who will critique the first chapter. Perhaps she will love it so much I will be offered representation, followed by a multi-book deal, then a movie deal from Clint Eastwood.

Or…

I’ll take her sugestions, fix it up, and start the long slog of sending querries out to the hinterlands.

Or…

I’ll self-publish. This may be the best, and most lucrative, option – but I am inherently lazy so if I can an agent, I would rather do that. Who needs that extra 15% anyway?

Regardless, I am done. And what is more important: I can go back to waking up at 5:30 instead of 4:30 AM, and I get to eat lunch again.

Priorities, people. You gotta have them!

Of course, there’s always the sequel to start – Hell on Horseback!

12 thoughts on “Nanowrimo 2011 – done!

  1. Awesome! Tooting horns and tipping a glass of bubbly in your honor! Tom Clancy has something to say too: “Success is a finished book, a stack of pages, each of which is filled with words. If you reach that point, you have won a victory over yourself no less important than sailing single-handed around the world.”

    A whole new adventure now awaits! You are THE MAN! You go DJ!!

    • Too kind, Jeannie, too kind. But thanks!! I am so glad the story made it to the end without sounding to trite or stupid. I’m with Tom, too, in that the novel is a success to me, regardless of how many Pulitzers I don’t win.

  2. DJ, the time is approaching for the Conference and visit with the agent. Do you have your pitch nailed down? Are you nervous? I’m excited for you. I can hardly wait to hear all the details. We’re in countdown mode…

    BEST OF LUCK!

    • The conference is the 24th and 25th of February so yes, the days are flying by quickly! I worked on my query letter today, which will essentially be my verbal introduction when I speak with Ms. Jenks. Regardless, even if tongue-tied, I get a critique of the first 10 pages, so worst case – I’ll have clues on “what needs a-fixin’.”

      Thanks for thinking about me!

Leave a Reply

