The Sunshine Award – for me?

My good friends at the Limebird Writers have sent me a blog award for being one of their first fans! This international group of diverse literary artists combine their talent to produce an extremely well written blog. Check them out!  If I am ever in England, I will have to find out which pub they call headquarters, for they have bestowed upon this blog the Sunshine Award. First round is on me.

The Sunshine Award? For a guy who writes about a cigarette smoking, gin swilling private eye with a tortured and failed love life?

Okay, so I also write about ghosts in lighthouses, insane short order cooks and forgotten cups of coffee. Be that as it may, I am deeply appreciative of the award!

Like all blog awards, there are certain requirements that simply must be met:

1.  Thank the person(s) that gave you the award. Again, thanks to the Limebirds!!

2. Write a post about it.

3. Answer the questions below.

4. Pass the award on to 10 bloggers who you think deserve it.

Here we go:

Favorite Colour: calculator red. This is the same red the TI-55 calculators and LED watches used back in the 70’s. Yep, I had them both. Bill Hinds once described me as this color. You’ll have to ask him.

Favorite animal: King Charles Cavalier Spaniels. I have 2 editorial assistants, both black and tan Cavaliers.

Favorite number: 7/4.  This number represents more than just one and three fourths. It also happens to be the time signature for a tune called Pussy Wiggle Stomp, by Don Ellis. Very cool tune. Check it out.

Favorite non-alcoholic drink: Coffee. Really, was there another choice?

Facebook or Twitter? Facebook. I just don’t have enough to say as often as Twitter-types expect. This may change once I become a jet-setting famous author.

My passion? My wife. She inspires me.

Giving or getting presents? Giving is so much more fun!

Favorite pattern – herringbone. I think that’s a pattern. I don’t know. I’m a guy.

Favorite day of the week?  Any day except Tuesday, the day one traditionally pays for burgers eaten today.

Favorite flower? I wanted to say unbleached, all-purpose but instead I’ll say Bluebonnets (homage to my ancestral home, the great state of Texas.)

There you have it.  Questions answered.

Now – ten blogs worth your time. Note that some do not worry about blog awards, and that is okay. Regardless, they rate the Sunshine Award if they want it. And they certainly rate a visit from you!

The WriterNubbin  – my first fan, other than family, and thought-provoking writer!

Verifed Kayo – a talented young writer starting on the journey!

Scrambled Sage – such a wonderful storyteller!

Dreaming Awake – YA author with a Christian slant and good old Southern (US) hospitality!

L.S. Engler – A writer. Writing. About Writing. I love this blog!

Ophelia’s Fiction – fantasy and supernatural genre. From Down Under!

PLOS – a network of bloggers who happen to be scary smart scientists and theorists. Awesome stuff that makes you think!

T.R.’s Musings – reader, writer, and runner (why? I don’t know) who is just plain friendly; and the posts are fun to read, too!.

Only Time Will Tell – crime, mystery and thrills. Lock and load!

The Ear of the Mind – A jazz music blog at first glance, yet full of world vision, seeking inner peace and aspiring intellect. Doesn’t post often, but when he does…I read it.

And so goes the Sunshine Award!

Tomorrow – back to the land of hard boiled noir and Witt Kepler, private eye.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “The Sunshine Award – for me?

  1. Pingback: Some Time in the Sunshine « The Writernubbin

  2. Oooh, this is a new award; I haven’t seen this one passed around much so far, and I like it! You deserve it; all that chain smoking and gin guzzling calls for a little more sunshine, yeah?

    And thank you so much for passing it onto me, too! I always feel so flattered that you dig my blog! Love the answers to the questions, too!

    • Thanks! Some of my British readers passed the award to me and I passed it on to several US and Australian writers that I follow. These awards are all about giving confidence to writers, as well as finding them new readers and new writers to read!

    • T.R. – You are so welcome. I used to be a runner, so I am enjoying reading about your efforts. Of course, I have no desire to get back into it. Too tired.

  3. Pingback: You are my sunshine? A Sunshine Award! | Emerald Barnes' Dreaming Awake Blog

  4. Pingback: Sunshine! | doodles

Leave a Reply

