The Wall

Athletics at the 1900 Summer Olympics – Men's ...

Image via Wikipedia

Writing is like running. It’s fun and exciting when you first start out and then you learn it is work. Real work. Real hard work. But you keep at it because you have seen others wearing their 10k or half marathon t-shirts and you want one, too.  Know someone who has been published, even if self-published? Sure you do. And you want to get that credential, too. But it is work. Real work. Real hard work.

I’m still working.

After a while, you take the plunge and start to write something beyond a flash fiction piece or a set of very nice sonnets. You take on…the novel.

Yes, the writer’s version of the marathon, many of us began writing our novel on November 1st with the hope of having the first draft done by the 30th. And if writing this novel is like runing a marathon – when do we hit the wall?

The wall. You know, the point at which runners just can’t go any farther. It could be as close as a mile from the finish line or perhaps even three miles after the start. It varies from person to person, depending on skill, motivation and circumstance. But it isn’t called the wall for nothing. To get past the wall is tough going. Ask any runner. Once I didn’t have to run anymore. I stopped. I never liked the wall.

So the goal for Nanowrimo‘ers is a 50,000 word novel written in one month. Where is the wall there? It depends. For me, I crossed over 36,000 words total as of today, which puts me just a little (very little) bit ahead of the game to finish on time. But wait! Now I have a new outlook on this novel!

I can see the end of the story coming. The plot has moved along nicely and there are many character defining moments already. But did I mention, I can see the end of the story coming? And it looks like I should be in the 50 – 60k word count when all is said and done. After editing and character building, the finished work will probably clock out at 60 – 65k. A good length for a new writers, imho.

So where is my wall? I think I passed it yesterday or this morning. But I did pass it.

At least I hope so!

So keep writing, all of you. If not for Nano 2011, for whatever project you desire, be it a poem, short story or even a technical flyer (my next project at work! Yea!!)

May you meet your wall, embrace it, and write like hell to get around it!

– DJ sends.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Wall

  1. I hit the wall so many times when I was working on NaNoWriMo. It’s one of those things where you have to push past it, no matter how hard it may seem. Anyone who hits that wall just has to keep writing. That’s the most important thing.

    Congrats on getting so far. The end is in sight. You’re getting closer to that finish line! Keep going and great job so far. 🙂

Leave a Reply

