A man’s got to know his limitations…

United States Armed Forces School of Music

Image via Wikipedia

So here we are on Day 7 of NaNoWriMo 2011 and I have just chucked about 8,000 words into the depths of my archive folder, sitting them comfortably next to that essay on the sociopolitical interpretations of covert bacon sales at the PETA office snack bar.

Yep. Starting again am I.

I know, I know, this greatly reduces my chance of reaching 50k words by midnight on November 30th, but, as Harry Callahan said, “A man’s got to know his limitations.”

The Witch’s Purse is a viable story, it has just chosen not to be written at this point in time. When the time is right, the story will let me know, and I will hop back on the ol’ Underwood and start clacking away.

So what now?

Operation Red Fury is a story of young Navy seaman Elena Martinez, about to leave the service due to “failure to adapt to military culture,” who is transferred to a secret counter intel unit where she has to defeat personal demons before she and her team can successfully infiltrate Iran and prevent a nuclear attack on the United States.

I cranked out 800 words at lunch today, and that was after the sun-dried tomato wrap of ham and cheddar cheese,  enhanced with lettuce, tomato and basil mayonnaise. The soda may have helped. I don’t know.

Hopefully you are well into your own novels at this point. Best of luck to you and please remember, if your story just isn’t working, don’t be afraid to put it down for a while.

It’s not starting over, it’s starting again!

9 thoughts on “A man’s got to know his limitations…

    • The Witch’s Purse is a story that deserves more of my attention than I can give in just thirty days. While I would gladly have any of my work published, I think W.P. has a good chance of making it out of the slush pile someday. I’ll return to it in December.
      Thanks for the encouragement!

  1. Blimey did you do 8,000 words in one day? That’s pretty good! Mmm talk of bacon made me hungry! Haha.

    Wait… what…!? You’re starting again! Wow that is brave! (that’ll teach me for not reading ahead!) Good on you for admitting that that story needed more attention than the month.

    Again, this food talk is making me very hungry, I’m about to dip into some crisps (or potato chips in American speak! 😛 )
    I wish you the best of luck with your new story, keep on going! You can do it. 🙂

    • It actually took all 6 days to get to 8,000 words, so I didn’t type as fast as you might think.
      As for the bacon, I also write (not much lately) a food blog. One time I spent several weeks posting my adventures cooking bacon in my self-proclaimed “Baconfest.” As a matter of fact, I am making bacon jam to give away as Christmas presents this year! You just can’t go wrong with fried pork products.

  2. You know you can add all your words that you have written this month for Nanowrimo on your stats even though you don’t finish one story and have to start another one… and yes, I did that one year.

    BTW I have written 18K since this morning. Going for 21K or more today.

    Cyn

    • Wow! That’s a lot of words!! I am taking a mini holiday next week where I will be able to write for hours each day. You have set the daily goal record – I will try to catch up with you! (and I like the idea of including the old story in the word count, too!)

Leave a Reply

