Software, Dolphins & Newman? Oh, my!

PAUL NEWMAN

Image by bernie.levine (trying to recuperate) via Flickr

Only 12 days until NaNoWriMo madness. I should be farther along in my planning, but alas, my story concept has only a beginning and an end. It’s that darn middle part, missing in action. Just like last year!

Maybe I should download some writing software?

I have a program in mind, WriteWay, created by the husband of Lara Adrian (a well known and published author in the urban fantasy/sci fi arena.) It looks promising and quite a few successful writers use it. Not that expensive, either.

While I need all the help I can get, I can’t help but think of my daily commute across the 18 mile Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel. Naturally, for safety’s sake, one should really keep one’s eyes on the road when driving over water. Drive off the bridge (it does happen) and you will find the Bay starts at 60 feet in depth and gets deeper in spots. Of course, as Paul Newman would say, the fall will probably kill you, so why worry?

Dolphins. That’s why I should worry.

You see, it is very common to get distracted by pods of dolphins swimming under the bridge. Too many distractions and wham! You just hit the guardrail and over you go. So much for getting to dry land!

Writing software, for a computer geek like me, may be too distracting. I can see it now, spending hours and hours of writing time playing with every little function of the software. Before you know it, it’s November 30th and all I have is my opening sentence: “Crap,” she said, “is that his intestine?”

Okay, that’s not my first sentence, but you get the picture.

So, who uses software to organize and write?

What are the pro and cons as you see it?

And I haven’t totally dismissed getting a new ribbon for the Underwood…

12 days. Yikes.

 

2 thoughts on “Software, Dolphins & Newman? Oh, my!

  1. I have WriteWay, but like you said it is too distracting for me too. I just need a word processing program, a character, a beginning and an end, and off I go.

    It is the middle that is the fun part. Hang on to your wild dolphin.

    • Hi Cyn, I am leaning towards not getting any software just for that reason. Speaking of distractions, reminds me of an Andy Rooney statement from a recent NPR broadcast about his last commentary shown on the television show 60 Minutes:

      “People like to think that lovable old Andy Rooney still uses his 1920 Underwood typewriter. Well, sorry to disappoint you, but he doesn’t. I wrote eight books on that and thousands of television scripts, but I’ve written on a computer for several years now. It’s a great tool for a writer – but maddening.

      Actually, I’ve written on a lot of computers. I had one typewriter for 50 years, but I’ve bought seven computers in six years. I suppose that’s why Bill Gates is rich and Underwood is out of business.”

      Hmmm…

Leave a Reply

