Time to Write

Medieval illustration of a Christian scribe wr...

(Very) Old School Writing

Maybe you are like me. I am not a full time writer, I toil in a cube farm during the day Monday through Friday and, in the evenings and on weekends I try my best to be a good dad and husband. Writing? I squeeze that in when I can. My problem has been (lately) I have had many, many irons in the fire. Too many words, not enough hours to write them.

Then I remembered a book recommended by poet Deborah Spanich of the Maier Museum in Lynchburg, Virginia. The book is Time to Write by Kelly Stone. This tome tells stories of prolific writers and how they led double or triple lives, often with “writer” being the lesser and employed worker or family member being the greater.

So I took my own advice and reread the book and now have a writing schedule. And it is working!

Of course, it has only been a week, but I am happy to say that progress has been made on the novel and on the detective fiction magazine and even the two blogs. Perhaps only an hour a day sometimes, but that is better than a half hour. Some days I managed two hours. Regardless – progress was made on all fronts!

I am happy!

I even read through the blogs I follow and commented on some. Have to keep up my good reputation as a karma-conscious blogger you know!

More busy-ness is on tap. We are packing to move across the Bay in the next week. Then a month or so of fixing up the old house to sell or rent. Oh yes, there is still work. Then we have to move our little girl to college. Then there is the kayaking trip.

I still have hope!

How do you fit it all in?   (Wine helps me, just sayin’)

3 thoughts on “Time to Write

  1. Multi-tasking! As I write this I am, typing (obviously), breaking up an arguement between my 2 kids, and planning what writing needs to be done this evening! Plus I like the wine idea – only I am participating in dry July (24 days with no alcohol so far and only 7 more to go! – not that I am counting or anything!) 🙂

  2. I am always in awe of those writers that have young kids. My kids are young adults now, starting off on their own really, but I remember the old days.
    As for the wine, I just have a glass of red each night for heart health. I just ignore my wilder days of youth and hope my pals keep quiet.

Leave a Reply

