Blog Awards do more than award…

It’s the little things in life that make all the difference. Saying thank you, holding a door open for someone who has their hands full, there are many examples I can give and you can think of more, I am sure. It’s all about being supportive, offering the kind word of encouragement, offering service to humanity. Think of the conflict we could solve if only everyone joined in!

Bloggers, especially writers who blog, tend to be very supportive of each other, too. Maybe it’s because we have the same problems. Writer’s block, lack of confidence in our own work, well-meaning but patronizing friends. Today I learned that one of the writers I follow has given me and three others the Irresistibly Sweet Blog Award. That is so cool!

Yes, I know. This is one of those blog “awards” that gets passed around, but you know – it’s more than that. Like any gift, it is really just nice that someone has taken the time to think about you and offer you such a nice little blog trinket. These types of awards help connect us all and provide encouragement by lifting our spirits. Let me put it this way – the reality of it is that a total stranger, someone I have never met nor will I probably ever meet, has given me a few moments of thought. Wow! I can only hope to do the same for others.

Now the hard part. This award has a few caveats:

1. Link to the person who sent you the award. Here you go, Jody from Australia! Thanks!! If you haven’t checked out her blog, please do so. Not many PhD’s in chemistry write as well as she.

2. Seven random things about me:

– I make a killer key lime pie.

– I am considering taking up the banjo.

– Someday I will hike the entire Appalachian Trail.

– I liked the Starbucks in Paris better than the local coffee shop by the hotel.

– I have written a year’s worth of story for a cartoonist.

– I think I am still 25; my body doesn’t agree with me right now, though.

– There is a coconut sitting on the half table by the door. (very random)

And finally – pass the award on to 15 others.

Well I can’t do 15 but I will link to most on my blogroll. I admit I am very selective on who I follow. These folks are worth your time. They are interesting, creative, thinkers not followers, and I bet if we were all in the same room, we’d have a blast!

Check ’em out.

By the authority vested in me by the systems admins at WordPress, I hereby present the Irresistibly Sweet Blog Award to…

(in order of GPS coordinates)

Lynn Renee at Creativity, Coffee and Life. Anyone who quits their dream job to become a writer deserves our attention. A very nice place to stop by and read!

Jennifer McFadden, writer of mysteries with the occasional supernatural twist. I have done some of these and they are so much fun to write!

L.S. Engler, a writer who writes about writing without trying to tell us how we should be writing like L.S. Engler.  Down to earth, good writing. I check in here often.

Lee Robertson, who writes the blog Only Time Will Tell. I can’t really explain this one. I just enjoy reading the blog. It’s a well written,  happy place.

Ophelia, who writes Ophelia’s Fiction Blog. Very astute observer of the human condition, Ophelia is from Australia. She is not an aspiring writer; she IS a writer.

K.J. Long – a teacher who also writes. Anyone who has been a teacher knows that at the end of the day, the last thing you want to do is write some more. But K.J. Long does, and we are all the better for it. Keep it going!

Greg, aka “Dudz” – a professional musician and educator with whom I have had the pleasure of working with for several years. His blog is mostly about jazz, and if you are into that – this is a great place to visit. Otherwise, visit anyway. Greg often ventures into societal and political commentary. He has a different view than most and you will probably find yourself nodding in agreement as you read. Check out the Ear of the Mind.

And finally, a writer who started blogging about the same time I did. The Writer Nubbin writes from the heart and shares so much of her life with us. She is taking a break right now, but read some of her stuff anyway. Inspiring. If you have a moose for a neighbor, how can you go wrong?

Thanks to you all for keeping us inspired, a few words at a time. And thanks again to the Exasperated Novelist, for considering me worthy of the Irresistibly Sweet Blog Award!

P.S. – I think I typed the links well enough, but if something doesn’t work, just let me know and I’ll try again.

5 thoughts on “Blog Awards do more than award…

  1. Congratulations to you! And, thank you my friend for the mention! I don’t have even half as many ‘friends’ as requested to bestow this kindness on but I’m thankful you thought of me just the same.

    Key Lime Pie–mmmmm!

    • Key Lime Pie is my wife’s favorite. I make it for special occasions. If I haven’t yet put a key lime pie adventure on my food blog, I will next Sunday. KLP is on the menu for next Saturday!

      At least my son stopped by and picked up his coconut.

Leave a Reply

