Hiatus for Hamlet

Shepherd gate clock at the Royal Observatory, ...

Time waits for no one - get writing!

You ever get the feeling that you can’t get anything done because you are too busy doing stuff?

That’s me lately.

The first draft of the novel I wrote last November is still mocking me. I even have a sequel rolling around in my head, plus a third, separate set of characters just waiting for me to start clacking away on the old Royal. Yet, like many writers, I never seem to have enough time to write.

Then, when I was wasting time on Facebook (like most of us) I had a short but enlightening conversation with a friend who mentioned a book called Hamlet’s Blackberry.  It’s about our life with electronic devices with screens and how those devices end up taking all of our time and end up ruling our relationships, or connections with humanity. I have not read it yet, but it is on my Nook-list.

Maybe we as a society have suffered because of a round-the-clock connectivity?

The really sad part? I have a book on my shelf, I can see it right now, called Time to Write. This book gives many great examples of authors who had just as much “life” going on as me, yet they found time to write. I’ve read this book and have recommended it to others. Do I follow the book’s advice? Apparently not.

So what does it all mean?

Please stop by Almost Out of Ink whenever you feel so inclined. There are about 40 short stories, two or three novellas and even a poem in there somewhere. As for me, I need to spend some time with the novel. I’ll still peruse my blogroll, for I always enjoy reading what my peers are writing. A very talented bunch they are! And if you comment on any of my posts, I’ll see it on my phone and I always reply to say thanks for reading.

But for now, it’s time to go on hiatus!  See you soon!!

2 thoughts on “Hiatus for Hamlet

  1. Happy trails until we meet again. 🙂 You’ve got to do what you’ve got to do my friend. I’ll be thinking of you getting that writing done!!

Leave a Reply

